Time to Get Busy Living

My name is Ryan Smith, I’m 39 years old, and I have six months to live.  Okay, two of those statements are technically false, and oddly enough, even though I live in Los Angeles, I’m not lying about my age.  My real name is Scott Smith. Ryan is my middle name, but my whole life I have never been called Scott, except by new teachers, tele-marketers, and the IRS. I guess the more important lie I should address is the whole “six months to live” part. Now, as far as I know, I’m not dying, so, I’m sorry if I worried you. I’m speaking to my friends and family specifically. If you don’t know me, it probably makes no difference to you, and if you hate me, sorry for getting your hopes up.

You see, on July 5, 2011, six months from today, I will be turning 40 years old.  And I’m panicking. Okay, maybe panicking is too strong a word. What is it called when you have an overpowering fear or anxiety about something? Oh, well, then yes, I’m panicking. I know this is nothing new and I’m not the first person to feel that way.  But I do feel my anxiety is rare considering I’m not particularly concerned with the getting older part. For one, I am in better health than I ever was in my twenties. And I’m in way better shape. In fact, if I was not going bald (curse you genetics) I would lay odds that 39 year old Ryan could easily beat 25 year old Ryan in the prestigious, yet made up, “Most Handsome Guy Contest”. Also, as a character actor, the older I get, the more marketable I become. So why all the fuss?  Maybe I can explain it better by looking back to a time when I had a ton of hair on top of my head and none south of the border.

When I was 12 years old, I recall playing a large scale, outdoor version of hide-and-seek with my friends David Heller, Albert Salopek, and a handful of other kids who shall remain nameless, because, well, I have forgotten their names. The objective was to hide anywhere within a 4 or 5 house perimeter, and after a set period of hiding time, you could make a run for home base. If you could make it back to home base without getting caught, you were safe. Well, the good news is, I won. The bad news is, I hid about 10 blocks away, got lost, and it was getting dark. I was still “hiding” about an hour after the last guy was caught. Parents got involved because I was a missing child at this point. And Mr. Salopek was not too pleased with me when he finally found me, since I was spending the night and I was his responsibility.

So how did I turn a fun kids game into a nightmare? Easy. By getting the real objective of the game completely wrong. I thought the goal was to “stay alive” and win. But the real objective was to experience the thrill of seeing how dangerously close you could get to being caught and still make it to home base.  The getting caught/losing part was irrelevant. Sadly, this is pretty much how I’ve been playing the game of life for 39 years.

I have failed at living. Not the breathing, heart beating, normal body function part. I totally nailed that.  But the supposedly fun part of life, the part where you try new things and take risks.  Sure, I’ve had my moments. I tried sushi and ended up liking it. But if it wasn’t for the fear I wouldn’t impress my date and the even greater fear of not getting laid, I would still never know that raw tuna on a splotch of rice could taste so damn good. If you’ve never tried sushi, trust me, it’s way better than I just made it sound. The way I see it, I have wasted a large portion of my life worrying about the outcome of taking even the smallest risk. And I’m sick of it.

So, as scary as this is for me, here’s my goal with this blog: I’m going to cram 39 years of living into the next six months and document it, so I can turn 40 feeling like I’ve done something with my life. Nothing like waiting until the last minute right?  I have some things in mind that I’d like to do. Take a trip abroad, do volunteer work, things of that nature. But I thought to make this more fun and to help me think outside my comfort zone, I’d like for you, the reader (god I hope there’s more than one reader) to do this for me: In the comment section, suggest things for me to do. Anything. They don’t have to be big or crazy things. (FYI, jumping out of an airplane is off the table, so don’t waste your time suggesting that.) In fact, I’m really looking for the little things that make life worth living that I can almost guarantee you I have missed out on. Stuff I can do every day to feel like I’m not wasting away in my fleece robe in front of my TV and Xbox360. I may not be able to get to everything, but I will commit to trying a minimum of one new thing per day. And I will report back here often, in case you’d like to check in on my progress. I’ve already accomplished one of my goals, starting a blog, so that’s one thing I can check off my list. And now, as I sit here in my fleece robe, glistening from an “Oh my god, what have I gotten myself into” cold sweat, I await your ideas. No pressure to respond, but remember, I only have six months to live.


53 responses to “Time to Get Busy Living

  • Bob DeRosa

    Find a city you’ve never been to that has a great film festival. Make plans to attend the festival. If you can, stay within walking distance of the screening venues. Do NOT make the excuse, “I’m not going until I have a movie to promote.” While you’re there, see at least three movies a day. Make sure some of them are foreign or documentaries. In between the movies, go to the coffee shops or bars where festival-goers congregate. Sit near a group of people and say, “Seen anything good?” You will meet more people than you can possibly imagine, you will be inspired by seeing works of art just for the hell of it, and you will get a taste of a new city. Enjoy.

  • Ryan Smith

    Thanks Bob. I love it. How is SXSW as far as festivals go? I’ve always wanted to go to Austin, Tx.

    • Heather McKinzey

      Ryan….SXSW is amazingly full of all things good in film, music and people watching (and meeting). And selfishly…I live in Austin and would love to see you before you turn 40.

      • Bob DeRosa

        Yes, I’ve heard SXSW is incredible. Austin also has Fantastic Fest in the fall, which Ben Rock and Alicia Conway say is the best festival around. Either one is a perfect choice.

      • Ryan Smith

        Hey Heather. On Monday I’m going to AAA to see what kind of deals I can get on a trip to Austin. I’m doing everything I can to make a trip out there for the festival. I’ll be sure to let you know if and when I’m coming.

  • kelly b

    Although I think you are being hard on yourself, ( moving to L.A. takes guts), I think this is great. I would throw out a random visit to an old folks home. Or nail down one amazing meal that you become known for.

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you for the encouragement Kelly. Volunteering is on my list, so look out old folks home, here I come. And I think I’ll try to nail down some sort of Asian cuisine, so I can name it “Ryan’s Famous Hi Kika Ko” 🙂

  • Sarah French

    Eat at a taco truck! They’re good!

    • Ryan Smith

      Sarah, I misread that at first as “Eat a taco truck”. I do get hungry sometimes, but I don’t think that’s doable. Eating AT a taco truck is much more doable. Consider it done. 🙂 And thanks for taking the time to read my blog and comment. 🙂

  • Matt Laroux

    Read 10 Classic pieces of litterature.

    Start to learn a foreign language.

    Hike Mt. Witney, highest elevation in the contiguous United States.

    Get SCUBA certified and then travel to a tropical destination and use it.

  • Kelly Ramey

    Take a young child in your life to a circus or something similar. It’s even better if it is just you and the child. The experience of watching them watch things that amaze them and then look at you with that, “have you ever seen ANYTHING that cool before?” look is not to be missed:)

    Great idea – can’t wait to follow your progress!
    Kelly

    • Ryan Smith

      I just kidnapped a child and we are off to the circus. As soon as he stops crying. Jeez. Wait, did I misunderstand your comment? 🙂 Seriously though, thank you for reading my blog and for the great advice. 🙂

  • Chuck Snyder

    Draw a caricature of yourself. Pick your favorite movie and track down (and visit) where it was filmed. Ebay a model kit from your childhood and put it together (hopefully a little better than the first time.)

    • Ryan Smith

      Excellent ideas Chuck. My all time favorite movie is Jaws, so when I get really ambitious, maybe I’ll take a trip to Martha’s Vineyard, aka Amity Island. For now I will look for some around here. I’m sure some of my other favs were filmed in L.A. Before so much production moved to Canada. Also, funny you should mention the model building. Not exactly the same, but I recently purchased a LEGO set and put it together. Just as fun as when I was a kid. I bought one more, but its been sitting in my closet. But not for long.

  • Robyn

    I’m utterly intrigued. Can’t wait to hear about your exploits. And I have loads of suggestions:
    Try a yoga class (i know a great studio)
    Take a swordfighting lesson (i can help you out there)
    Go to an area of town you haven’t been in much, park the car, and just wander around for a few hours to see what you find.
    Try brushing your teeth with your non-dominant hand.Sit at a diner counter or eat at the bar somewhere and just strike up a conversation with whoever is there.
    I’m sure I can come up with plenty more upon reflection. This is fun!

    • Ryan Smith

      Robyn, Thanks for the response to my blog. I feel confident I will get to all of those within the next six months. In fact, I already went to an area of town I never go to (Little Tokyo) and had a great little adventure. I’ll mention that in my next blog post.

  • Sam C.

    forty is fun, fifty is fine, sixty is sexy – so, hold on, it gets better. Keep breathing deeply, eyes open wide, forgiveness in your heart and laugh. Want something to give your life meaning – get political, get active and start refusing to suffer fools, gladly or otherwise, and there are enough fools to keep you busy. Speak up, speak out and don’t the users get away with it. Stand for quality and demand more of yourself and less of everything and everybody else. Go to the beach, the movies, the mountains and, above all, be glad for those six months and the next six and the next…….

  • Lauren Pritchard

    Do your one man show of Ryan Stories. Yes go to another country. Doing it alone even better. Non English speaking? Bonus points. Do something that scares you in a good safe way. Train for and do a triathalon. The sprint tri is totally doable. Try a new LA thing every day. I have a cool website I can refer you to. Drive and camp the coast. Sign up for a ridiculous class totally out of your comfort zone. Then tell us about it. Mentor.
    Ps I love you!

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you Lauren. Please send me that link you mentioned. Every little thing helps. I see myself doing all, if not most of the things you mentioned in my six month time frame.

  • Cullen Douglas

    Streak. After you’ve done that, with clothes on take a female friend to a restaurant and propose in front of everyone. You might get dessert for free, dinner, champagne or a free weekend in Vegas. Then the next night go to a different restaurant and do the same thing! BTW, you are my new hero!!!

  • Stephen F.

    Try to get people to sing along to Bohemian Rhapsody on a bus.

  • Linda G.

    Check out the state parks along the California coast. Do-able in Malibu soonest, and then expand out north and south. So amazing and the quiet gives you clarity. Not too expensive either, if you join the California State Parks Assoc for $25. You get parking passes in the mail, and then all you have to pay for is a lunch or camping.

  • Cew

    You are not getting old! I should know!

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you for the comment Carla. Just to clarify, I’m not thinking I’m getting old, or worried about that in the least. I’m more concerned with living, from this day forward with a sense of adventure, so that when I really am old, like 45 (kidding), I can look back and feel like I’ve done something with my life. Let me know when you’ll be back in New York. Maybe I can make a trip up there and take YOU to a broadway show this time. Either way, I’m still grateful I got to see you and Randy when I did in October. 🙂

  • Laura

    Ryan, OK, first of all, this scared the shit out of me 🙂 ha. But only for 1.5 minutes. Having read on, I fully support you. As soon as your clock strikes 40, you will turn into a boring and meaningless blob. So get moving now. Here is what to do:

    1) Make a pizza from scratch. Then make another one that is better than the first. Feel a sense of accomplishment and childish joy and delishishness. (Make sure you use a really good sauce).

    2) Plant something from scratch. A seed or something. Whatever. Watch it sprout greenness. Name it. Try not to kill it. Feel joy that you have given life to the world.

    3) Be still. What is important in your life? What do you believe in? Answer, if only partly, these questions. Then design your mantra! 2-7 words that you say to yourself everyday. Everyday. To remind yourself everyday.

    Then you’ll turn 40. Or maybe your biological clock will reverse and you’ll start getting younger. Like Brad Pitt in that uncomfortable movie.

    Hug,
    L

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you Laura. I love these ideas. I don’t know where you stand on sibling rivalry, but you totally beat your sister in the advice department. (One of my goals is to turn family members against one another. Let me know how I did.) 🙂 xo

  • Regan Lee

    Take a stunt driving course where they teach you how to drive around like a maniac. Or else rent a muscle car and take it down to one of those legal drag racing speedways that are open to anyone with a driver’s license and see how you do.

    Or if cars aren’t your thing, try a trapeze class. Or learn how to fly an airplane. Or go down to Orochon Ramen in Little Tokyo and try to do their challenge where you have to finish a bowl of their crazy spicy soup in half an hour. I’d actually be willing to try that one with you, if you’re game.

    And whatever you do, good luck and have fun with it. I look forward to reading about your adventures.

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you for the ideas Regan. I actually think I’ll try stunt driving before I try the spicy soup though. No so much because I’m scared of the soup, but more because I worry about the people that are within a ten foot radius of me after I’ve eaten the soup. Hope you are well Sir, and thanks again for taking the time to comment on my blog.

  • Kim Evey

    The last 2 or 3 days of Sundance are a blast! After all the hype and celebs go away you can see a bunch of great films, get around easily and make lots of friends as you wait in line.

    For more travel, go see that person who means so much to you but you haven’t seen in years.

    Learn how to make something tangible that you’ve always wanted to make and then give it away to someone who would really appreciate it (knit a scarf, build a birdhouse, paint a picture, tile a table, etc.)

    Be of service to a person or organization who needs your help.

    Start the day by reading a quote that you find inspiring and/or centering.

    Remember how much we all love you.

  • Andy Girl

    Having done something similar last year, I HIGHLY recommend making a list, because it feels AWESOME to cross things off of it. I changed my life in 30 days last year (http://30til30.tumblr.com/page/11) and I am so excited foe you! You are going to have a blast.

    I love Kelly Ramey’s suggestion!

    I also suggest going to a korean spa. Get the scrub down. I am not kidding.

  • Matt Knudsen

    Great idea Ryan. Off the top of my head, why not do the ultimate California adventure of swimming in the ocean and then playing in the snow (Or vice versa) on the same day.

  • JenBascom

    Wow. I am so glad I sat down and took the time to read this. It’s inspiring. You are already a risk taker in so many ways by nature of profession and geography. However, I agree, we should all keep challenging ourselves to feel like we are among the living. I love all of the suggestions made above. Here are some more ideas of things I’d/you’d maybe be scared and excited to do. You are brave and wonderful!:

    1. Take a Stand-Up Comedy Class. And then follow-up with an open mic performance where you know no one in the audience (gulp).
    2. Volunteer at a shelter/ soup kitchen where you can interact with the clients.
    3. Take a hip-hop class.
    4. Surf.
    5. Enter a cooking competition.
    6. Eat alone at a nice restaurant without reading.
    7. Travel alone.
    8. Go to a mosque, temple, church and open your heart to being inspired.
    9. Get a camera and go for a walk somewhere.
    10. Make a list and check off each accomplishment while you hold yourself accountable for your own life.

    Congratulations friend!

    -Jen Bascom

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you so much for the encouragement Jen. (Minutes before I got your post, I signed up for Tom’s stand-up class, so check that one off) I love your ideas, but just know that after I take a hip hop class, you will get served! (is that even a relevant dance term anymore? God I’m old.) 🙂

  • Rachel

    I just want to offer up that if you choose to do something that involves a kid. I have two you can borrow either or both… I trust you. you are awesome but I think it is the day you were born…. a good day if I say so myself.

    • Ryan Smith

      Thank you for the offer Rachel. Maybe I’ll do baby steps with that one and spend the day with you, Cameron, and Gabriel (who needs Cullen, right?) That way I won’t have to post a blog that says, “Today I misplaced my dear friend’s children at Disneyland. Whoops.” 🙂

  • Zoie

    Learn a ridiculous instrument like the Ukulele!
    Or go to The Museum of Jurassic Technology!
    Or go Urban Exploring!
    orrr enter a slam poetry contest!(speaking of which, this post kinda reminded me of this poem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYg9Z5VspSY)

  • Stuart

    Ryan, what an inspiring post and comment thread. I can’t wait to hear what comes of all this.

    Thinking about the things that have made me feel more alive, I would suggest:
    * Take a trip anywhere out of the country. Plan about half to do yourself, then meet up with someone and do the rest of the trip with them.
    * Go back to school while working full time. There’s nothing like completely overloading your schedule to get you to pare down your task list to only the most vital, relevant, and important things in your life.
    * Share a bottle of wine and a sunset with a good friend.
    * Start a gratitude journal. Every day write down at least 10 things you’re thankful for. It’s amazing how full you feel your life is once you start to take stock of the good stuff. (And, hey… look at this comment thread… what good friends you have in your life!)
    * See how much stuff you can get rid of. Is there anything you’re holding on to that you don’t really need? How much can you lighten your load?
    * Let go of expectations. Take experiences as they come, and be open to outcomes that look different than you hoped. Be okay with disappointment, frustration, and apathy; these are acceptable responses to an event, as much so as pleasure, thrill, and satisfaction. Experience life in whatever way it comes at you. Enjoy the journey.

    And one more: I’d love to see you do a magic show. You’re so good at it; have you ever done it for an audience bigger than a few folks in our living room? 🙂

    For what it’s worth, I think you’ve done more living than you give yourself credit for. You’ve always been an inspiration to me. But, I love that you’re pushing yourself into this anyway.

    Enough outta me. I’ll be tuned in for your the next six months. Have fun!

  • Rich Leach

    This is awesome Ryan. I kind of started the same type of thing, but maybe on a smaller scale. I was always very lazy and didn’t want to do much, especially home improvement type stuff. I vowed before I was 40 I would teach myself how to do some of that stuff. I turn 40 in September and I have already installed a new kitchen sink and garbage disposal, installed new toilets, vanities, sinks and faucets in both bathrooms, tiled the floor in both bathrooms and installed wood floors in the living room and dining room. I also did voice over for a national radio commercial. I was nervous as hell at first, but it turned out pretty good. Next up is some other personal achievements.

    As for you, make a list of 5 thing that are completely out of your comfort zone and do them. If you’ve never done it, go snorkeling down in the Caribbean. It is freaking amazing. Oh, and also legally change your name to Rhyme Smiff….

    • Ryan Smith

      Rich, thanks for the comment and “stuff to do” advice. And congrats on setting your own goals and achieving them. That is inspiring to me. Oh, and way to go on the radio spot. What was it, maybe I’ve heard it?

      And I will change my name to Rhyme Smiff if you change yours to Rickert Litch.

      • Rich Leach

        It was a spot for Valpak(The company I work for). It ran back in October and November. It was me basically saying I am a restaurant owner and Valpak coupons bring in customers. It was a fun experience. I will be drowning my sorrows on my 40th in Vegas. We have at least a dozen people going, so it should be fun. Good luck with everything!

  • Lisa McKee

    My dearest, favorite, cousin (which for those of you out there reading this that don’t know our family tree – it’s more like a family shrub – I only have 2 cousins, so Ryan had a pretty decent chance of being my favorite) I hope Brianne isn’t reading this, but if she is – I’m very sorry and I’ll send a really nice baby gift to make up for it). It seems only right that I am reading your blog for the first time tonight since at dinner with friends the song “My Sharona” played and I told them about how we were 9 years old on New Years Day – 30 years ago – jumping on your parents bed excited it was the #1 song. Did you know the lead singer lived in Woodland Hills until he died last year – how ironic. So, my suggestions for your 6 months of living begin with:
    1. Download My Sharona to your iWhatever
    2. Jump on the bed playing air guitar with reckless abandon like we did that day as a reminder to what it felt like to truly live in the moment
    3. Write a pitch (or treatment or whatever you industry types call it) for that sitcom we discussed about you know who living you know where – i’m telling you, it’s got real potential! If nothing else, it’s good material for your stand-up comedy class
    4. Plan to go Shark cage diving (Farallon Islands, San Fran)- Jaws is your favorite movie, so if you’re willing to do it, it’s my 40th birthday present to you! You can only go Sept-Nov – but we can book it whenever you say the word!

    I love you so much & can’t wait to read the next 6 months of your journey
    xoxo your favorite cousin (cause I know my chances are pretty good and my brother won’t be too offended) Lisa

  • Laura Danella

    Ok so First, I was concerned that you actually did have 6 months to live. Second, 40 isn’t so bad, I just did it myself last year. But I get it totally. Ideas??? Umm I have always wanted to go to the grocery store and pay for some random person’s groceries. As an alternative to plane jumping (another thing I have always wanted to do) is go on a zip line tour. Commit yourself to making a new friend maybe someone who needs a mentor, someone younger than you and see if some of your new adventures can help them get a lift too! Can’t wait to follow your journey.

  • Lena Bouton

    Ryan,
    I just read your blog today and I laughed out load, so hard. It felt really good to laugh that hard (especially during the yoga post). The good news is that almost everyone (I’m excluding Eckhart Tolle)has an “Earl”. But, I believe with committment we can create enough space so that we no longer believe what Earl is saying. Something that has allowed so much joy to flow in my life is silence….driving in silence, sitting in silence, eating in silence, etc. I think you are brave and I know that YOU are way more powerful than Earl. I have a feeling you may have just rolled your eyes at me. 🙂

  • Larissa Sunshine

    I’d say that everyone is going to have different things that make them scared. I’ve backpacked through foreign countries by myself, but I’m intimidated to publish my fiction. Meanwhile, you may not have snorkeled in Baja, but you’re sharing your writing with the world on your blog. I suspect that certain adventures are calling to you now, and suggest that you follow your heart to them. But they are your adventures, not mine.

    I’d say just one adventure is universal, that we all need to take: Fall in love.

Leave a comment